Day 4 – A Favorite Television Program

This is a little easier that the other ones. I really don’t watch a lot of tv. In fact I have a TV in my room that my parents bought for when my grandparents come down for the winter and I’ve turned it on like twice.  So when it comes to my favorite TV show there are only two possibilities…

1. Christy

Omg! How did I forget to put Christy by Catherine Marshall on my favorite book list! It so should have been there! Anywho, so this book is one of my all time favorites. One of the few that I have read numerous times. In fact when I was in highschool I actually memorized the last chapter because I thought it was so beautiful…it is…but…

So there is a TV series for this book, only played one season and then had three TV movies (with a different cast…booo!) My thought is that it was canceled because it was too “christian”.  I don’t think its been on TV since like 1994 or 5 but it’s all good because I had it all on tape and now on DVD.  Its funny because I don’t consider myself a romantic person. I don’t read romances, I don’t particulary like romantic comedies yet my when it comes to my favorite shows and movies they tend to be very sacchrine and goody-feeling, like The Scarlet Pimpernel, Christy and The Sound of Music.  Long story short, its a great show about a 19 yr old girl who feels God has called her to be a teacher in the woods of TN and then has doubts…and Dr. MacNeill has a Scottish accent so you know it’s good.

2. Doctor Who

When people hear that I love this show they generally think I’m crazy. Yes it has its corny moments (it has to, it’s British)  yet I’ve come to believe that people generally don’t like it because they don’t want to have to think. I love it just like I love BTTF, thinking about all the paradoxes and time changes. I also love that the concept of time and space travel brings almost unlimited plots, just as the Doctor’s regeneration lets this show go on forever. 🙂 I love the newer series the most, my doctor being the tenth. Yet Tom Baker is ok too…but on the most part the older ones aren’t of much interest to me. I love David Tennant and Billie Piper together and though I am learning to like Matt Smith….Amy Pond just annoys the heck out of me. I don’t know maybe I’m just partial to things that can give me hours of pleasure because of their scope, just like the Star Wars universe, the Doctor Who universe is never-ending between books, movies, tv shows and comics.  I can’t wait for the Christmas special! It’s almost time!

Other top shows:

  • Where on Earth is Carmen Sandiego? (come on, you know you loved it too!)
  • Jeopardy! (It’s so fun to feel so smart)
  • Boy Meets World (FEE-FEE-FEE-FEEEEEENY!)
  • Sherlock Holmes (1980s-90s Granada Television Series)
Published in: on November 23, 2010 at 10:00 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://windowasher.wordpress.com/2010/11/23/day-4-a-favorite-television-program/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

